Coraline (Gaiman)

I once had a student recommend a Neil Gaiman book to me (American Gods), but its size intimidated me a bit. Then I admired his response to a politician’s comment about his neck.

http://journal.neilgaiman.com/2011/05/opinions-of-pencil-necked-weasel-thief.html

I decided to start slowly with Coraline. What a delightfully well-constructed and genuinely scary story. His writing is vivid, his characterizations and plot artful.

Can’t wait to see what Tim Burton has done with it.

http://coraline.com/

I’m not sure I’m ready to dig into American Gods yet, but I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

