The Thirty-Nine Steps (Buchan)

All reports said that the film (my first Hitchcock!) was “loosely” based on the book. I had no idea how loosely until I got to the end of the book (on my phone) and realized there were not 60 or so phone pages left (a lot copyright info, etc. instead), but that it was indeed, over. It was an entertaining yarn; the author’s note intrigues me (but not enough to look into it). The language has not travelled through time well. But I can see why it appealed to Hitchcock – the ordinary man gets caught up in extraordinary circumstances. I look forward to watching the movie again; I can’t recommend the book.

Leave a Reply

