Open Gate: An Anthology of Haitian Creole Poetry (Laraque, Hirschman, ed.)

I was trying to find some poems to use in the classroom in conjunction with Danticat’s Krik? Krak! I found a dozen or so that I could possibly use the next time around. Aside from Patrick Sylvain, no single poet really stood out for me. There seemed to be some kind of overlap between poetry and song – lots of repeated phrases. It made me think – to what extent do different cultures have different notions of poetry? Anyway, I can’t really recommend it. It was a new, eye-opening experience. What biases / expectations do I have for poetry?

Leave a Reply

