Collected Stories (Garcia Marquez)

It took me a long while to get into magical realism. It was Isabel Allende’s The House of the Spirits that convinced me of the legitimacy of the genre. Garcia Marquez’s work has long been a challenge for me. It took me a few tries to get through One Hundred Years of Solitude, and I am glad I persevered. I had fond memories of a few of Garcia Marquez’s short stories when I picked up the collection.

This Harper Perennial edition is arranged chronologically by publication date. The stories are presented in the way they were originally collected for their publication in Spanish. The initial stories are intimidating in their obscurity, but either Garcia Marquez’s style evolved or I got into its rhythm enough that I found myself having some ideas about the stories and enjoying them as I went along. Still, it did not surprise me when I felt most comfortable with his most recent work.

One Reply to “Collected Stories (Garcia Marquez)”

  1. This is normally the case when reading works in the magical realism genre. I think that even though the magical aspect of magical realism is a little harder to accept, the realism keeps the reader grounded. It’s just something to get used to.

Leave a Reply

