An Atlas of Impossible Longing (Roy)

I’m not sure how this book got on my list. It could have been a review, because I thought the title was really cool (it is, isn’t it?) or because I thought it was the same author that wrote The God of Small Things (it’s not). Whatever the reason, I’m glad I found it. This is a tightly plotted 3-generation story and the author is quite skillful at putting so much weight on small things, like looking out a window or even the number three.

Like Last Man in Tower, this book dwells on the rapaciousness of the real estate business in India. Though I’m always wary of making a cultural observation after 2 pieces of fiction, I wonder whether this trend is worth noting.

So, Ms. Anuradha Roy, thanks for this one. What’s next?

Leave a Reply

