Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)

I know, I know, I’m the last person to read this. My daughter, 8, devoured the first three. I asked a librarian about #4 and was told there was a death in it. My daughter and I decided that I should read it first. And so I did. All 734 pages of it. (Was Rowling so popular at this time that the whole editing process was just abandoned?) It’s an entertaining tale, filled with memorable characters and moments. Rowling’s writing is engaging, if a bit too much like Chinese food for me (as in, you read 50 pages, and you are still hungry for something more).

I finally did arrive at the death and it, taken together with the scene around it, will prompt me to ask my daughter to wait. It is pretty grim. Even though I’d gotten to the point I needed to as a parent, I still pressed on. I was disappointed by Rowling’s reliance on the cliched expository monologue as a way to provide backstory. There are several examples of this in the latter stages of the book.

So, I know it’s pretty useless to recommend or not recommend this book. I can only say it’s not for at least one 8-year-old. I will also say that I’m not going to rush out to buy #5 until she’s well into this one. And, for that, I’m glad.

4 Replies to “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)”

  1. As the books gained huge popularity her editor definitely took some time off – luckily they come back. I love the comparison to Chinese food. Completely enjoyable but when you’re done you’re still looking for something more (ful)filling šŸ™‚

    I think it was my favorite as well, but they’ve all kind of merged into one memory for me so I can’t be sure.

  2. Personally, I always think there is a rush to the next Harry Potter book, as I’ve read and reread them multiple times. I’m curious to know why, if #4 left you wanting more (just like Chinese food) that you aren’t ready to start tearing in to the fifth one?

  3. That question in parentheses? The answer is yes. I’m not sure if it was the editor who was lazy so much as famous people who know that they can demand whatever they want can demand no editing because, you know, they’re perfect. I’ve heard stories from people who worked with Stephenie Meyer that it was a similar headache.

Leave a Reply

