Cannery Row (Steinbeck)

Inspired by a friend on his way to Steinbeck country, I picked up this novel / novella. (What is a novella? Does anyone care about the distinction? Is there a real distinction?) I’ve read a lot of Steinbeck over a lot of years, so much so that I ought to keep a list. As I got into these pages, they seemed new to me in terms of character, but the best of what I admire about Steinbeck. He can evoke a person, a place, a time period as well as anyone I’ve read. The prose here is pitch-perfect. These people come to life, Doc and Mack in particular.

Sweet Thursday will be next.

One Reply to “Cannery Row (Steinbeck)”

  1. I read this to Chris in the car on one of our Chicago road trips, and we laughed and laughed. It turned out to be one of our absolute favorite read-alouds.

Leave a Reply

