I wish I’d saved the review that prompted me to want to read this one. Now that I’m finished, I have no idea what the attraction might have been. Di Grado has some original ideas about language and silence as well as stories, but they never really progress beyond gimmicks. By the second half of the book, the plot becomes out of control and, frankly, a bit difficult to read in places.

Camilia and her mother, Livia, have just lost their father / husband in a rather devastating fashion. Each tries to recover. We get the story from the daughter’s point of view, but by the end, we’re wondering if we should trust anything she has told us.

This is a violent story. This includes a fair amount of sexual violence. I admit that this sort of thing is hard for me to read.

Di Grado won the 2011 Campiello First Novel Prize. I just don’t see it.

