Gone Girl (Flynn)

This is a remarkably well-constructed book. I don’t want to include any spoilers, but I completely fell for it.

The characterizations are well-drawn. Flynn keeps the main cast small, so by the end, I thought I really had these characters pegged; I could picture them.

Flynn has impressive insights into a young marriage. I laughed in recognition more than a few times.

This book is also disturbing – all the way until its bitter end. There’s no coda here. This is a tough read (in my case, listen) all the way through. You should not bail on this one early.

Flynn writes well, though occasionally it seems like the author is using her characters to voice her own snarky commentary. Then again, who in their mid-20s does not lapse into snark from time to time?

Julia Whelan and Kirby Heyborne read well, especially Whelan.

I can’t wait for the inevitable movie. It will be a challenge for the director to protect the structure.

Leave a comment