As a temporary Minnesotan, it felt almost obligatory to be a fan of Louise Erdrich. I was not engaged by Love Medicine and when it was re-issued with the stories in the order the author intended, I was just confused. I liked The Master Butchers Singing Club and The Birchbark House, but still not enough to investigate her full catalogue. When The Round House won the National Book Award, I decided to give her another try.

I’m glad I did.

This is a masterful, wonderful book. I think part of the reason is that it defies genre. It’s a mystery, it’s a coming-of-age story, it’s a story about stories, it’s a commentary. Erdrich blends content and character so well that I had to force myself to stop at times so I could relish the book even more.

And I’m sure I’ll love it even more the second time around.

Her bookstore: birchbarkbooks.com

