Our daughter loves biographies. Even though she said once that she didn’t like biographies because everyone dies, she still reads them regularly. Her latest one is about Steve Jobs. I’ve rarely blinked an eye at any of the subjects of her biographies. I was even impressed when she asked me why there weren’t more for children her age that were about women. So I helped her find some.

But when she brought this one home, I got nervous. What questions would she have about the Holocaust? How would we answer them? As I wondered about it and talked with my Mom, our daughter finished it. We asked if she had questions, and she said no. My mother had suggested that I read it, and I did.

It’s a straightforward account and, as far as I know, accurate. The spare drawings, provided by Nancy Harrison, are useful and the breaks for historical context and maps serve the biography well. The language is accessible and, for the most part, not judgmental.

Overall, this book is an impressive accomplishment. I’m glad she read it. And I’m ready for the questions. Thanks for the suggestion, Mom.

