The Gate (Soseki)

I am not sure why I picked this one up. I like the New York Review of Books series, and Haruki Murakami’s endorsement probably helped. I am also not particularly well-versed in Japanese literature.

I enjoyed the precise writing – the details of the settings and the small details of a seemingly ordinary couple living a mundane life. The depiction of the couple (both as individuals and as a couple) is striking and, though quite dated in some ways, still resonates a great deal. Though, at times, I wanted a bit more story, the power of the unspoken is quite powerful here.

And the ending serves the story quite well. And, now that I think about it, so does the title.

Leave a Reply

