The Magician’s Nephew (Lewis)

It has been a long, long time, but it was time to try The Chronicles of Narnia with the kids. And it truly was magical. I had forgotten so much of the story, right up until the end, when the wood from the apple tree becomes part of the wardrobe that features so prominently in the next story.

Lewis’ writing is beautiful and Narnia truly a wonderful place. I was enchanted by Aslan (and wanted Morgan Freeman to do his voice).

Lewis’ characterizations are quick and evocative. We were all completely transformed into his world – both London and Narnia.

We were going to do The Princess Bride next, but now I think we’ll go on to The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.

2 Replies to “The Magician’s Nephew (Lewis)”

  1. My aunt gave me the entire Chronicles of Narnia set as a child. They were hardcover books with beautiful covers, but I wanted nothing to do with them. I liked the Boxcar Children and Laura Ingalls Wilder books–why would I want to read fantasy? Later, as a high school student, or possibly even as a college student, I pulled the box of books out of my closet and read them all–and loved them. They really are timeless, beautifully written books. If your kids enjoy Narnia, you could also try Madeleine L’Engle’s stories–although I think I appreciated her books more when I was older.

Leave a Reply

