Where’d You Go, Bernadette (Semple)

I wanted funny, and I’d heard this was funny. And good. And it lived up to the hype. Semple, through the use of emails, police documents, blog posts and even a TED talk, has constructed a remarkably clever tale of how, for one family, everything just falls apart. Though the plot gallops past satire and becomes preposterous at times, and Semple’s ending hastily tries to tie up everything in the few minutes remaining before the final credits, and the narrative tries too hard to justify its existence (okay, that’s a lot), I enjoyed the story. I laughed out loud more than a few times (and particularly enjoyed Semple’s jabs at Lakeside).

Is there more here, I wondered? I could reach for it – the missing question mark begs for examination. But even I don’t feel like bothering. I just enjoyed it.

http://www.mariasemple.com

Leave a Reply

