The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe (Lewis)

I have to admit I’d forgotten much of this story. It was a fun read aloud, and the kids want to move on to #3. Lewis writes great sentences. There were a few difficult moments surrounding the deal Aslan makes with the White Witch, so we read a little extra that night to get past it.

But my favorite character has to be the Giant Rumblebuffin.

If you can, get an edition with photos. They’re wonderful.

I was concerned that my understanding of Lewis’ religious agenda would make it hard for me, but it was rarely too didactic. The story can definitely be understood without the religious lens.

Leave a Reply

