I needed a book to read in between events at my daughter’s epic Tae Kwan Do tournament (8 hours and 15 minutes!). I chose this one, and it was definitely the right call. That’s not to say it’s an easy book, only that Kline quickly transported me out of a convention center and into the lives of Molly (1990s Maine) and Vivian (1920s Minnesota, among other places). The short chapters make the story move fast, and though things are a bit heavy-handed at times, it’s an extremely engaging and, I would add, important story. I had never heard of these orphan trains and, to Kline’s credit, she is able to integrate her research seamlessly into her plot. The research matters to the story; it’s not just inserted to show off her thoroughness. Though a bit formulaic in places, this is definitely worth the time.

http://christinabakerkline.com

