The Lobster Chronicle: Life on a Very Small Island (Greenlaw)

I have this vision of a few places I’ve never been – Maine and South Carolina among them. So I thought I’d take a literary trip to Maine and read Greenlaw’s book. It never really sparked to life for me. There’s certainly much to be said about the particular year she chose as her subject, and she weaves in some history of the island, the conflicts over lobstering, lobstering techniques, and some family history. She also sensitively renders the other islanders as human when they may have become caricatures in the hands of another, particularly an outsider.

I am not sure why this slice of life memoir never grabbed me like I wanted it to. It’s certainly not the subject, so I think it has to be the writing. A disappointment.

Leave a Reply

