Saints (Yang)

This tale of the Boxer Rebellion intersects with Part I, Boxers, but takes a slightly different approach. The influence of “foreign devils” is once again here, but this time, we follow a female protagonist who tries to navigate the contentious times. There’s much more about religion here, and the outsiders play a larger role, so there’s more of a need for Yang to provide translations. The art seems more deliberate here, so this part is shorter, it took me just as long. And, I’ll admit, I was a bit confused by the ending. I’ll keep reading what Yang has to offer. I just wish the industry could find a way to make graphic novels cheaper.

Leave a Reply

