This is a well-organized look at the notion of restorative justice as it is practiced at Roca (http://rocainc.org/). Boyes-Watson intersperses her somewhat under substantiated analysis with very effective quotations from those who have been involved with Roca. But she’s preaching to the choir. It seems like an amazing and transformative place, and I gleaned many insights into how and why Circles can influence the way we think about change.

Two objections –

As a public school teacher, I was offended by the notion Boyes-Watson made that I am paid to care. I am paid to teach. There’s a difference. I don’t belong on any list with the juvenile justice system.

Second, the book reads like a dissertation. As such, it is at times a bit too methodical and repetitive in its writing and organization. But it was definitely worth staying with it.

