Reading Reasons: Motivational Mini-Lessons for Middle and High School (Gallagher)

This is less a book to read and more of a resource book. Gallagher offers his rationale for her 9 reading reasons (1. Reading is rewarding. 2. Reading builds a mature vocabulary. etc.) and then provides comprehensive and concrete mini-lessons to use with students in order to try to help them find their reason to read. There is nothing to argue with here. It’s a book I’ll keep on the shelf. I’ll try pretty much anything to get students to read. So I look forward to trying some of Gallagher’s ideas with my students.

http://www.kellygallagher.org

One Reply to “Reading Reasons: Motivational Mini-Lessons for Middle and High School (Gallagher)”

  1. Reading through Gallagher’s thoughts on what builds reading motivation is both thought provoking and irksome. I also have a classroom library. This year we gave the students the option of reading a historical fiction or non-fiction book for their assignment. We had over 80 books lines up on the windowsill. Only five bothered to use them. We discussed what books we liked, which ones we thought would be easier to read, which ones were set in certain time periods. We even read snippets from some of them at the beginnings of the classes to pique their interests. We couldn’t get them to “bite” on them though. I agree that students need the time to read in class. We usually start them out by reading the first part to them and then give them time to continue reading in class. It’s all too apparent that many are not reading. I do plan on showing my students them correlation of test scores with the amount of words read per year. I wonder what Gallagher has to say about the push from the Common Core toward non-fiction readings. Our librarian started a book club, but time constraints forced me to not join. I am one of those people who has too much on their plate. Tutoring, children at home, papers to grade–all of it adds up to no time for book clubs. I am a voracious reader at home (since insomnia is something I suffer from!). I plan to start sharing lines from the books I am reading and asking what it makes them see or feel. The Reading Minute is something I can see incorporating into my classes. We already do a little notebook assignment at the start of class, and I would like to see how involved they get in that. So, as I said, thought provoking, but irksome. I have tried many of the building blocks she suggests, but I still have way too many non-readers.

Leave a Reply

