We’re deep in Rick Riordan land here at the house, and my son wanted me to read this one, one of the first I brought into the house. It was an effort to bridge the gap between his comic book stage and novels. And it worked. He’s absolutely hooked into Riordan’s stuff and has pretty much finished it. We’re working on finding him alternatives until Riordan’s new series comes out in September.

In any event, our son, 8, warned me that now that he’s read some of the novels that he didn’t think much of this graphic novel adaptation anymore. You know what? He’s right. Venditti’s adaptation moves between quips and lengthy, awkward and sudden exposition. I found Powell’s art overwrought. The books are better. Mythological tales seem a natural fit for graphic novels. This one just doesn’t work.

