A gentle and stunning book about Michael, a member of a string quartet, who finds himself with the unlikely opportunity to try to return to a crossroads in his life and take another path. He proceeds in fits and starts, with some successes and some disasters, and while he is not completely successful, he does find some measure of redemption in the end.

I am far from an expert in classical music, so I can’t attest to the authenticity of those sections, but I found them successful and moving. The sections set in Venice were especially beautiful.

The only bit of dissonance I felt about the book was an effort to locate it in time. The emphasis on classical music sets a very particular tone and when modern things would intrude, it seemed jarring, perhaps deliberately so.

I want to believe that Seth is right, that we can recover from our mistakes, if not completely, then with at least some modicum of grace.

