Senegal Taxi (Herrera)

Since I had never heard of Herrera when he was name US Poet Laureate, I was curious to pick up the first collection I found. This one, for the most part, eluded me. It is an attempt (I think) to use many voices (focusing on the voices of children)  to explore the violence in the  world’s newest country – South Sudan. Some poems are obscure. The television interview sequence is clumsy. Others pieces have moments that sour. I came away most interested in the art of mud drawings.

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/juan-felipe-herrera

Leave a Reply

