Throughout the country, pockets of resistance have emerged who are saying to standardized tests, those administer them, those who produce them, and those who profit from them – ENOUGH!

And I agree. And Jesse Hagopian (who edited this book) and everyone who wrote and was interviewed agrees, so the book becomes dull after a while. I like that Hagopian tried to organize the book around different kinds of advocates – teachers, students, parents, adminstrators. But I don’t think it helps. I think it would have been more useful and more interesting to divide it by steps – history, organizing, alternative assessments, results – or some such construct.

I also think it would have been interesting to interview or have some kind of contribution from people in favor of testing – Arne Duncan, someone from Pearson, someone from IB. If the goal of the book is to persuade us, then we need to hear both sides. If the goal is to be didactic, then it works. If the goal is to inspire, then the organization of the book doesn’t support it.

I don’t disagree with Hagopian. I am just not sure that this is the most important fight, or at least it’s not my most important fight. I did learn from this book. It just reads like the product of a club. Everyone knows each other. Everyone supports each other. Fine. I just didn’t need so many pages.

 

 

 

