Digest (Pardlo)

I fully admit I picked up this collection because the poet is from New Jersey and I have family there and because it won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize.

I read the first poem – “Written by Himself” (http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/242220), and I was hooked.

After that, however, the density of the poems and sometimes their structure and sometimes their cleverness made them difficult for me to access. Occasionally a line or two or even the odd poem would engage me, but I couldn’t find enough in most of the poems to spend much time looking at the work more carefully or even re-reading poems.

I’m sure these contain magnitudes. I just couldn’t find much but crumbs.

Leave a Reply

