The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town (Grisham)

I was working backstage at a theatre and had a long break near the end of the show. For some reason, probably because I’d heard of it and it had been on my shelf for a while, I started reading In Cold Blood. The way I read it contributed to the powerful impact it had on me, both because of the particular narrative and because of how it was written. I selected this Grisham with that experience in mind. It definitely belongs in the same genre, but Grisham is no Capote. He’s exceptional with the details. He’s clearly done his homework. But he’s too present in the narrative to make it particularly compelling. There’s too much of his voice. There are way too many exclamation points. Good reading for an airport – which is where I bought and read (most of) it.

Leave a Reply

