Eva Sleeps (Melandri)

In addition to my need for one of those opening screens that provide background information before movies, I was also not pleased by Melandri’s use of that age-old trite trick of introducing a character without naming him and then casually revealing who the character really is. That’s not a great explanation, but I saw no need for her to hide this information. Overall, it was hard to get into the rhythm of this book, with its two and sometimes three interweaving plot lines. There are passages and sections that I enjoyed, but overall, I found this one disappointing. I can usually count on Europa Editions for better fiction. And the editing on this one was surprisingly inept, especially at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

