Open Veins of Latin America: Five Centuries of the Pillage of a Continet (Galeano)

Latin America, as with anything resembling modern Africa, was a huge gap in my education. I now see this as less than coincidental. I’d heard that this Galeano’s book was a good place to start. I can’t say I could pass a quiz or test on the book, but I got the sense of the patterns of exploitation from both within a country and outside of it (largely by Britain and the United States). There were other hinge points here – a culture of international consumerism, international organizations, etc..

I think I need another way in – to countries, issues, etc.. Suggestions are welcome.

Leave a Reply

