Treasure Island (Stevenson)

Sometimes, you have to go back and get one you missed. Since our son was performing in a stage adaptation of this novel (he was Long John Silver), I figured I had my excuse. Though I am neither nautical nor piratical (is that a word?), I didn’t expect to track all of the details. And I didn’t really expect to like it since I normally don’t go for adventure stories. But I did – at least for a bit more than the first half of it. It was a page-turner as Stevenson unveiled the characters and set the scene and conflicts.

When everyone arrives on the island, though, the pace bogs down, the geography gets muddled, and the characters start to blur.

Nevertheless, it’s a memorable story, thanks to the basic plot and some very vivid characters.

Leave a Reply

