Shelter in Place (Maksik)

There are books you read that prompt you to wonder, “How did the author know how I think?” There are others that you read that prompt you to wonder, “How did the author know about my life?” Rare is the book that does both. Shelter in Place is one such book. From his perfect title to his masterful use of language, Maksik creates a world that resonates with both my interior and exterior life. Though the plot takes place far from where I’ve ever lived (the NW United States), I felt like I was present in the story. Maksik’s narrator, with his careful use of verb tenses, made me think about gender, family, dreams and, in general life, in completely new ways.

I loved Maksik’s earlier novel, A Marker to Measure Drift. This, though, makes the top 10 list. This one was life-changing.

Leave a Reply

