North Woods (Mason)

I am afraid I am seeing a trend. I remember when Zadie Smith said she wanted to play with the form of the novel. It seems that she isn’t the only one. Diaz in Trust, and now Mason in North Woods. I get (mostly) why. This is not the story of any particular individuals; instead, it is the story of a place. And as Mason covers each era in prose of the time and the layer of time, secrets are left for the next generation to explore and (mis)understand. And the people always leave their mark on the land – to the extent that they never really leave it. And no matter what, the trees suffer.

It is incredibly well-constructed if not always incredibly clear, especially in its transitions. But the author’s hand was always present. I was always aware of the man behind the mask – more aware of the structure than the story. You’re not supposed to watch the magician; you’re supposed to watch the trick.

Leave a comment